Program Review: Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations- Egypt

In the episode of Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations that I watched Bourdain traveled to Egypt. I thought it was odd that he didn’t want to visit the pyramids. I would totally wait in line for hours to see those Egyptian wonders. One part of the episode showed the traffic on the busy streets of Egypt (see picture below). This was particularly scary to me. It was complete chaos! There were no clear lanes of traffic or any actual regulations being enforced; cars just went any way they chose and people were everywhere. I didn’t even see any street signals. I would be afraid to be in car on those roads.

I thought it was interesting to see all the different foods that Bourdain ate throughout this episode. One dish in particular that he had was pigeon rubbed in various different spices and then seared to perfection. I think that I would enjoy this meal. For the most part Egyptian food looked pretty appetizing, the only meal Bourdain had that I don’t think that I would try was the goat that he had out in the desert. They picked a goat and slaughtered it (facing its head south for religious reasons), then they skinned it before cooking it buried in a pit under the sand (see picture below). I thought it was really interesting that they smoked it underground and thought that this way of preparing it would make it pretty tasty. That being said I don’t think that I could eat something that I just watched being killed. 

Leave a Reply

