Reporting on the World Entry 1:

This article talks about Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands abdication. She will resign April 30th, 2013. Her son Prince Willem-Alexander will become King upon her withdrawal. She says “I am not resigning because my duties are becoming too burdensome but I believe that the responsibility for our country should now be in the hands of a new generation”. I think that she handled this matter in a grand way. She made her resignation seem so positive and optimistic. I actually did not know that the Netherlands was run by a monarchy until I read this article. As it turns out this year the Netherlands will be a monarchy for 200 years! I was very happy that I my first entry was able to be about such a significant turning point in the Netherlands politics.

Queen Beatrix

 http://www.dutchinamerica.com/2013/01/28/queen-beatrix-announces-her-abdication 

Leave a Reply

